Connect with us


Niger Assembly Impeaches House Leaders



Niger State House of Assembly on Thursday July 16,  impeached its majority leader, Suleiman Nasko and his deputy, Andrew Jagaba.

The house leaders were impeached following a motion adopted by Ndagi Baba, the lawmaker representing Lavun Constituency and seconded by Saidu Tama, the lawmaker representing Edati Constituency. 

They were accused of being responsible for the slow movement of activities in the House and not being progressive. 

Though the Speaker, Abdullahi Wuse said he was not notified of the decision to impeach them which was contrary to the Standing Order of the House, Mohammed Haruna, the lawmaker representing Bida II Constituency moved that the order read by the speaker be suspended and was seconded by Malik Madaki, the lawmaker representing Bosso Constituency.

Abba Bala was nominated as the new majority leader, while Binta Mamman was nominated as the new deputy majority

Copyright © FastNews Nigeria